The NDP Win A Sask. By-Election

The NDP retained the Saskatoon-Meewasin constituency by a much larger margin than in the last provincial election. Nathaniel Teed had 57 percent of the popular vote, and also made some history as being the first openly-gay MLA elected in Saskatchewan. The by-election was needed following the resignation of former NDP leader Ryan Meili, who represented Saskatoon-Meewasin. The win gives the NDP 12 seats in the Legislature. The Saskatchewan Party have 48 and there is one independent MLA.

More from GX94 Radio