Saskatchewan Metis Sign Agreement with Ottawa

The federal government has signed self-government agreements with the Métis Nations of Saskatchewan, Alberta and Ontario.
It’s seen as a major breakthrough for some Métis communities who have long demanded that their Indigenous rights be respected by Ottawa.
The agreements give the Métis jurisdiction in core governance areas, like citizenship, leadership selection, and government operations.

More from GX94 Radio